The 82nd Drama League Awards: Special Recognition Honors Announced

Deaf West Theatre

Photo by Margery Gray Harnick
Sheldon Harnick
Photo by Jan Versweyveld
Ivo outpost Hove
Sheldon Harnick
Ivo outpost Hove

The Drama League has announced a 3 recipients of a 2016 Special Recognition Awards. Tony, Grammy and Pulitzer Prize leader Sheldon Harnick will accept a Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award. Olivier Award leader Ivo outpost Hove will be respected with a Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, and lastly, Deaf West Theatre will be awarded a Unique Contribution to a Theatre Award.

Drama League Executive Director Gabriel Shanks commented:

“Although we are technically a ones bestowing these honors, it feels like they are indeed honoring us. Sheldon Harnick is a melodramatic fable whose impact on a art form is indelible. Deaf West Theatre has enriched a informative lives of deaf and hard-of-hearing people for over dual decades, and we are vehement to commend their countless contributions to a American theater. And we are anxious to respect innovative executive Ivo outpost Hove for his glorious work opposite a globe, including this season’s productions of A View From a Bridge and The Crucible on Broadway, Antigone during BAM, and Lazarus during New York Theatre Workshop.”

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards rite will take place on 20 May 2016 during a Marriott Marquis in Times Square. The nominations for a 5 other Drama League Awards categories – Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical and a Distinguished Performance Award – will be announced during Sardi’s grill on 20 Apr 2016.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are a oldest melodramatic honors in America. They are a usually vital theatergoer awards selected by assembly members — specifically, by a thousands of Drama League members national who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.

The initial Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935. Since then, a Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a register of entertainment legends such as Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Julie Harris, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.

Deaf West Theatre was final represented on Broadway by a 2015 reconstruction of ‘Spring Awakening.’ The association has formerly staged a 2003 Broadway reconstruction of ‘Big River,’ as good as informal productions of ‘Pippin,’ ‘Sleeping Beauty Wakes,’ ‘Oliver!,’ ‘Cyrano,’ and ‘A Streetcar Named Desire.’ Under a artistic instruction of David J. Kurs, Deaf West Theatre productions are “renowned for weaving American Sign Language with oral English to emanate a seamless ballet of transformation and voice, thereby formulating a entirely thorough melodramatic knowledge for deaf, tough of conference and conference audiences.”

Sheldon Harnick is a performer, writer, lyricist and composer. He has warranted Tony Awards for his musical contributions to ‘Fiddler on a Roof’ (1965) and ‘Fiorello!’ (1960) (with a latter also earning him a Pulitzer Prize), as good as Tony nominations for ‘ Cyrano – The Musical’ (1994), ‘The Rothschilds’ (1971), ‘The Apple Tree’ (1967), and ‘She Loves Me’ (1964).

Ivo outpost Hove is now represented in Broadway’s 2015-2016 deteriorate by his directorial duties on ‘A View from a Bridge’ and ‘The Crucible.’ His off-Broadway credits embody ‘Lazarus,’ ‘Alice in Bed,’ ‘More Stately Mansions,’ ‘A Streetcar Named Desire,’ ‘Hedda Gabler,’ ‘The Misanthrope,’ and ‘The Little Foxes.’ In London, he won an Olivier Award in 2015 for his entertainment of ‘A View from a Bridge.’

- by Tom Millward

This entrance upheld by a Full-Text RSS use – if this is your calm and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, greatfully review a FAQ during

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Curated By Logo